UDB V7 on NT

Mae Bruce

UDB V7 on NT
I am getting ready to upgrade my NT server from UDB V 6 to V7. The
installation guide states that during the upgrade V 6 will actually be
deleted prior to installing V 7. My question is: will the uninstall of V 6
actually delete the complete contents of the SQLLIB folder? What I have
just found out about our set up is that someone actually put the database
files within this SQLLIB folder!!

If everything in SQLLIB will be deleted, can I just move these to another
folder temporarily, do the upgrade after shutting down the DB2 services, and
them move them back before starting any databases? Or will I have to
delete/recreate these files using the DB2 utilities before I start the
upgrade?

Thanks for any help.

Mae Bruce
State of MO
OA/Division of Information Services
Phone: (573) 522-2489
Fax: (573) 751-3229

Mae Bruce

Re: UDB V7 on NT
(in response to Smit)
Thanks for the suggestions. I think I will try the redirected restore since
I am not fond of the idea of having these files in the sqllib folder anyway.

Thanks again for the help.

Mae

-----Original Message-----
From: Smit [mailto:[login to unmask email]
Sent: Saturday, January 04, 2003 1:50 AM
To: [login to unmask email]
Subject: Re: UDB V7 on NT


Mae,

On AIX you would not have this problem because then db2 would move the
sqllib to sqllib_v6
and create a new sqllib directory. In youre case the sqllib wil be replaced
so I think you can try
two things. Youre option: backup the v6 database, copy the containers from
the sqllib to a save place.
Do the migration to v7, copy the containers back into the sqllib\... Bind
the cli/ubind packges
and see if youre still alive. A think a better way to go is: backup the
database, do a redirect restore
(place the containers there were you would like them to be) and make a
backup
of the new database and after that .......start the migration to v7.

Good luck,

Robert E. Smit
Zelus Support.



----- Original Message -----
From: Bruce, Mae <mailto:[login to unmask email]>
Newsgroups: bit.listserv.db2-l
To: [login to unmask email] <mailto:[login to unmask email]>
Sent: Thursday, January 02, 2003 10:01 PM
Subject: UDB V7 on NT


I am getting ready to upgrade my NT server from UDB V 6 to V7. The
installation guide states that during the upgrade V 6 will actually be
deleted prior to installing V 7. My question is: will the uninstall of V 6
actually delete the complete contents of the SQLLIB folder? What I have
just found out about our set up is that someone actually put the database
files within this SQLLIB folder!!

If everything in SQLLIB will be deleted, can I just move these to another
folder temporarily, do the upgrade after shutting down the DB2 services, and
them move them back before starting any databases? Or will I have to
delete/recreate these files using the DB2 utilities before I start the
upgrade?

Thanks for any help.

Mae Bruce
State of MO
OA/Division of Information Services
Phone: (573) 522-2489
Fax: (573) 751-3229

Smit

Re: UDB V7 on NT
(in response to Mae Bruce)
UDB V7 on NTMae,

On AIX you would not have this problem because then db2 would move the sqllib to sqllib_v6
and create a new sqllib directory. In youre case the sqllib wil be replaced so I think you can try
two things. Youre option: backup the v6 database, copy the containers from the sqllib to a save place.
Do the migration to v7, copy the containers back into the sqllib\... Bind the cli/ubind packges
and see if youre still alive. A think a better way to go is: backup the database, do a redirect restore
(place the containers there were you would like them to be) and make a backup
of the new database and after that .......start the migration to v7.

Good luck,

Robert E. Smit
Zelus Support.


----- Original Message -----
From: Bruce, Mae
Newsgroups: bit.listserv.db2-l
To: [login to unmask email]
Sent: Thursday, January 02, 2003 10:01 PM
Subject: UDB V7 on NT


I am getting ready to upgrade my NT server from UDB V 6 to V7. The installation guide states that during the upgrade V 6 will actually be deleted prior to installing V 7. My question is: will the uninstall of V 6 actually delete the complete contents of the SQLLIB folder? What I have just found out about our set up is that someone actually put the database files within this SQLLIB folder!!

If everything in SQLLIB will be deleted, can I just move these to another folder temporarily, do the upgrade after shutting down the DB2 services, and them move them back before starting any databases? Or will I have to delete/recreate these files using the DB2 utilities before I start the upgrade?

Thanks for any help.

Mae Bruce
State of MO
OA/Division of Information Services
Phone: (573) 522-2489
Fax: (573) 751-3229